To knit or to crochet – that is the question!

There’s a line in a song from Gilbert & Sullivan’s opera Iolanthe that goes “That ev’ry boy and ev’ry gal, That’s born into the world alive, Is either a little Liberal, Or else a little Conservative!” 

Now don’t panic, I’m not going to break out into some political diatribe – I merely use the line to illustrate a point. Do we happy band of yarn manipulators define ourselves by one or the other? I started off as a knitter (my grandma taught me) and picked up crochet somewhere along the line, but for the life of me I can’t remember how or when. When my boys were little I was definitely a knitter but since I’ve taken it up again in the last couple of years, I’m as likely to reach for the crochet hook as the needles. 

Which brings me back to the original thought – do we tend to divide neatly into being either a knitter or a crocheter or do most of us, like me, ‘swing both ways’ in the world of yarn? Image

4 thoughts on “To knit or to crochet – that is the question!

  1. Kudos to you for your flexible talent! I was initially taught to crochet when I was very little and mum thought it would be easier for me to knit so taught me that as well but the one that stuck is crochet. So I guess you could say I’m a crochet diva all the way.

  2. My gran taught me to knit and crochet when I was little (and embroider), then I discovered Quilting. I still knit and crochet small projects but quilting has taken over so now I “need” fabric as well. I think you’re a “yarn lover”, this tea cozy is such fun!

Leave a Reply

