Afternoon tea, anyone?

I feel like I ought to have knitted some strawberries and cream to celebrate the Andy Murray victory on Sunday but I didn’t …. so I thought I’d post this picture of cupcakes, fruit pies and slices instead! I made them to promote an afternoon tea we’re holding as a fundraiser for our church and had as much fun mixing the colours as I would have if I’d been icing them!

I used a load of different free patterns I found on the internet – being so small they were obviously quick to knit and I did quite a few during car journeys to visit various relatives (as a passenger of course – even I haven’t mastered the art of driving and knitting 😉 They are also a great way of using oddment from your yarn stash. I particularly like the battenberg and the chocolate cake – and the cherry pie.

But what about Andy on Sunday though! 77 years since a British male, Fred Perry, won Wimbledon (and 36 years since a woman, Virginia Wade, won). It was truly historic – okay so maybe Djokovic wasn’t playing his best but that’s not to take anything away from Andy. I had a fairly absorbing crochet project on the go (more on that later) so that when he was completely messing up his drop shots I didn’t have to look but I could put it down when necessary. I did stop everything for the last game though…I may never see this again in my lifetime so I had to make the most of it!!!ImageImage

 

4 thoughts on “Afternoon tea, anyone?

    • Oh my, that’s really kind of you. Thank you so much. My internet connection is playing up at the moment so I can’t get on the website, but as soon as it sorts itself out I shall be nominating too!

Leave a Reply

