Don’t touch me – I’m unpicking!

What is it with non-crafters and unpicking? I’m beginning to wonder if it’s some metaphor for life!

If I find I’ve made a mistake in a pattern, I unpick to that point and re-knit/crochet. If I’ve had a go at making something for the first time and it doesn’t work out, I unpick and start again…..

…. And yet every time someone catches me at it they urge me not to do it or question why I would want to or tell me no-one will notice. Where else in life, other than knitting/crochet (and any other craft activities) do people try to stop you making good on your mistakes?

Here are a few great quotes for anyone who feels like me about this.

“Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new.”
― Albert Einstein

“Freedom is not worth having if it does not include the freedom to make mistakes.”
― Mahatma Gandhi

“Have no fear of perfection – you’ll never reach it.”
― Salvador Dalí

“We learn from failure, not from success!”
― Bram Stoker, Dracula

6 thoughts on “Don’t touch me – I’m unpicking!

  1. My friends think I’m a crazy lady every time they see me rip something back – rather, “unpicking” – such a nicer term lol I’ve been seen to unravel an entire project because I didn’t like the look of it on many occasions! I think they don’t understand that our craft demands excellence! 🙂

Leave a Reply

