Making the most of your eyelash – no mascara involved!

What to do with one ball of eyelash yarn? There it sat in its glorious pinkness, all alone in a basket of oddments. “Rescue me” it cried “I am too special to stay here amongst balls of DK acrylic and baby 4ply”. How could I refuse this plea for help?

But just one ball….hmm, too little for a scarf on its own, but maybe a stripe with other yarn textures? Definite possibility – but do I have any other colours that go with it ….. uh uh. Then I had my little eureka moment – what about the cuffs and trim of some fingerless mitts (which I love both wearing and making). Bingo!
Eyelash cuff fingerless mitts
I went for a rather sophisticated pink and black combo but I have enough eyelash for another pair so I’m thinking pink and lime green (or maybe orange).

Dead easy to make if you don’t mind knitting in the round. For an average hand I cast on 36 sts using 4mm DPNs, ribbed 18-20 rows, switched to black and increased 8 sts evenly across the needles. I worked about 20 rows then made the thumb hole thus: For left hand K13, K7 on a piece of scrap yarn, return 7 sts to left needle, K7 across the waste yarn, then K24 (reverse for right hand i.e. begin K24). Work about 12 rows depending on the length of your fingers, cast off.

To make the thumb, pick up the waste yarn sts and pull out the waste yarn. Spread the sts over three DPNs, picking up a stitch in each corner to prevent a hole. Work about 8 rows (depending on the length of your thumb) and cast off.

I chose to finish the top edge off with two rows of DC (US SC) in the eyelash.

2 thoughts on “Making the most of your eyelash – no mascara involved!

Leave a Reply

